Called Meeting – July 12, 2018

Jasper County Board of Commissioners

July 12, 2018

Called Meeting Minutes

6:00 P.M.

Comm. Pennamon called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Commissioners Present: Chairman, Carl Pennamon, Vice-Chairman, Craig Salmon, Bruce Henry, Don Jernigan, and Doug Luke.

Staff Present: Mike Benton, County Manager, Clerk, Sharon Robinson, Finance Director, Dennis Pate, and County Attorney, David Ozburn.

Pledge of Allegiance:


District 3, Don Jernigan

Agenda Approval:

Comm. Luke made motion approve the agenda as presented, Henry seconded; passed unanimously.

Commissioner’s Items:




Regular Agenda:

Old Business:

Senior Center CDBG Project Bid Results:

Mr. Benton noted we received 5 bids. Architects Jim Mesherle and Michael Turner are here to go over the bid results.

Beatty Construction –                                     $960,000

Brannen Development Group –                       $708,595

Diversified Construction –                              $914,010

JOMA Construction –                                     $749,128

Sunbelt Builders –                                           $933,211


Mr. Mesherle noted as they opened the bids they were surprised at the bid amounts.

Mr. Mesherle presented options on how they can achieve staying within budget. First option is to reject all bids, redesign project and re-open bids. Second option is for the Board to give authorization for them to negotiate with the low bidder; this option would take about 30 days, they can enter negotiation without awarding contract. Third option is to go ahead and look at the situation and decide whether or not the project in its current configuration has enough value that you want to build it as it says.

Mr. Benton noted he has clarified with the Grant Administrators that we would still be in compliance with option 2.

Comm. Henry clarified that the Board will still be able to negotiate things that they would like to keep when JMA reports back to them and before a contract is awarded.

Mr. Mesherle noted they would.

Mr. Benton noted that the grant would need to be closed out by October 4, 2019 per the grant administrator.

Mr. Benton noted the construction budget is $598,000 and contingency is $41,000, so there is grant money of $640,000; he needs direction on whether the board would like to include contingency or stick with budget amount.

Commissioners were in agreement not to include contingency in the construction amount.

Mr. Mesherle noted he would like to see what they could come up with and go from there.

Comm. Henry made motion to authorize JMA to negotiate with Brannen as the low bidder to reduce cost to stay within budget; Comm. Jernigan seconded; Motion passed 4 to 1; Salmon opposed.

Comm. Pennamon clarified that they would get a report back within 30 days.

Mr. Mesherle noted they would.

New Business:

Adopt Jasper County Board of Education Tax Levy for 2018 Tax Billing:

Mr. Benton noted The Jasper County Board of Commissioners needs to adopt the Jasper County Board of Education Millage for the 2018 Tax Billing. The Jasper County Board of Education’s FY 2019 Budget and Recommended Millage Rate was not complete for the June 28, 2018 BOC Millage Rate Adoption Meeting. Jasper County Board of Education recommends the County adopt the levy of their advertised Millage Rate for the 2018 Tax Billing of 17.990.


Comm. Salmon made motion to accept the Board of Education recommendation of 17.990 and authorize the Tax Commissioner to levy as such, Comm. Luke seconded; passed unanimously.




County Attorney Items:


County Manager Items:

Mr. Benton noted Lakeshore Drive road improvements are nearing completion; they will begin in Turtle Cove with Blackbird Circle, Falcon Circle, Bluebird Circle, and Blue Jay Court on Monday. Also the contract and Notice to Proceed have been given to Pittman Construction and hopefully they will get started really soon.

Comm. Salmon expressed his concern with bids being over budget.

Citizens Comments:


Executive Session:



Comm. Salmon made motion to adjourn at 6:37 p.m., Comm. Jernigan seconded; passed unanimously.


Carl Pennamon, Chairman



Sharon S. Robinson, Clerk